Weekly Menu Plan ~ June 28, 2009

LiveJournal Tags:

 

The hot, dog days of summer are here.  Humidity is crazy!  Feels like you are swimming through the air as you walk.  Great pool days, though.  🙂  The kids are loving the daily swimming lessons.  I guess the one benefit to this heat is that there are no cold mornings for swimming.  Which means no purple lips or chattering teeth! 

Celiac Family is hosting the Gluten-Free Menu Swap this week and chose the ingredient: balsamic vinegar. I love balsamic vinegar & use it for many different things in my house.  I will sometimes use balsamic vinegar alone for my salads.  I marinate my chicken breasts in a mix of balsamic, olive oil, basil, oregano, garlic, salt & pepper, then grill.  I saute mushrooms in balsamic vinegar.  I could go on & on.  Oh, one of my favorites is Caprese Salad with a balsamic gastrique (just balsamic & a touch of brown sugar stirred up & drizzled over the salad).  Thanks for hosting!

Onto the menu:

Sunday ~ Baked Parmesan Chicken Fingers, sweet potato hash browns, broccoli & salad

Monday ~ Salmon (Agave & Lime), brown rice, green beans & salad

Tuesday ~ Homemade Mac & cheese, baked beans, veggies & fruit (didn’t get to this last week)

Wednesday ~ Shrimp Scampi, asparagus & Caprese Salad w/Balsamic Gastrique

Thursday~ Spinach & Feta Turkey Burgers, roasted butternut squash, sauteed okra medley  & salad

Friday~ Homemade Veggie Pizza & salad

Saturday~ Breakfast for dinner (spinach & tomato frittata), sweet potato hash browns & fruit bowl

Baked Goods

Bread

Betty Crocker’s Yellow Cake Mix

Test another bread

Don’t forget to check out Orgjunkie for lots more menu plans.  🙂

3 Responses

  1. […] Like me, Kimberly at Gluten-Free is Life also has salmon on the menu this week. And her Caprese salad with balsamic gastrique sounds yummy. Looks like she also has plans to try out the new Betty Crocker gluten-free yellow cake mix. I’m looking forward to seeing her review of it, since I haven’t tried it yet. Be sure to check out her full week’s menu on her website. […]

  2. Doesn’t that salmon with lime and agave look good!!! Enjoy your summer – we’re having winter right now! Jo.

Leave a comment