About a week or so ago I applied to be an independent contractor for The Examiner. I was contacted by them on Friday and now I am the Columbus Gluten-Free Food Examiner! How exciting is that? I am so excited! I love sharing all of my fun tips, recipes and finds here with you all. This will be a great opportunity to really focus on areas of Columbus that I haven’t been able to focus on so far and share even more with you all! I have already been brainstorming on all kinds of things to write about. I can’t wait to get started! Oh, by the way, I just published my first article on gluten-free grocery shopping in Columbus, Ohio. Stop by & take a peek! :)
Lots going on in the world of gluten-free today! Starbucks will now be carrying Kind Bars. If you haven’t tried these bars, you are really missing out. Combinations of fruit & nuts, some with yogurt, too. Most varieties are gluten-free, but watch, there is at least 1 I have seen that has oat bran. The labels clearly state “gluten-free” on the ones that are safe for us. I almost always have 1 of these in my purse, but it is nice to know that there is one more place I can get a gluten-free snack if I need to or want to!
First, I must start by saying that I am very grateful to this fabulous company for recognizing that it isn’t necessary to use wheat starch or barley malt in every cereal that they make. There are so many more cereals out there that could easily be converted to a gluten-free recipe if the barley malt flavoring or wheat starch were removed. I know, reformulating is probably not cheap, but think of the increased number of consumers you could reach!!
As I was reading my blog reader this morning, I came upon a post by Gluten-Free Philly announcing that General Mills has come out with a new version of Cookie Crisp and this one has no gluten containing ingredients! The cereal is Sprinkles Cookie Crisp. Probably not the healthiest choice of the gluten-free cereals available, but a choice nonetheless. So you can add this to the list of other cereals made by General Mills that contain no gluten:
- Rice Chex
- Corn Chex
- Cinnamon Chex
- Chocolate Chex
- Strawberry Chex
- Honey Nut Chex
- Kix (check ingredients…old boxes have oats)
- Honey Kix
- Berry Berry Kix
- Sprinkles Cookie Crisp
- The elusive Chocolate Lucky Charms
- Dora the Explorer
I have not looked yet for the Sprinkles Cookie Crisp in my local store because I just found out about them. I will start to look next time I am in the store. Though, I need another box of cereal like I need a hole in my head. For those who can’t find the cereal locally, our favorite online shopping venue offers up the cereal in cases of 4.
**Please note that the Chex cereals are the only ones that are specifically labeled “Gluten-Free”. The others listed contain no gluten ingredients and are enjoyed by many who follow the gluten-free diet. Both Jon & I are extremely sensitive and have had no issues.