Review: Gluten-Free Chocolate Chex

Finally, I have found the last puzzle piece.  Seriously, this has been like a wild goose chase through grocery stores across the country!  LOL!  Since I first heard that General Mills was converting 6 of their Chex Cereals over to gluten-free, I have been keeping my eyes peeled for the cereals.  I was in Atlanta over Spring Break; I looked in several grocery stores there.  I was in North & South Carolina for the past 2 weeks and looked in several grocery stores there.  I have looked in every grocery store here in Columbus.  Before today I had found every new variety of gluten-free Chex cereal, except for Cinnamon, which I did an exchange for with my pal Lisa.   Lisa couldn’t find the Strawberry, so we did an exchange.  🙂 

002

Today I had to run to Kroger to grab a couple things.  Normally I don’t shop at Kroger, but I hadn’t looked there recently for my Chex and I wanted to check for the Betty Crocker Gluten-Free mixes there, too.  I swear I danced in the aisle when I found those GF Chocolate Chex.  I wish you could have seen it.  You all know how much I love chocolate, this stuff is heaven in a box!!  I think that this is by far my favorite variety, though I don’t have any that I don’t like.  As a matter of fact, I think I have all 6 varieties in my pantry right now!  **BLUSH**  Hi, my name is Kim and I am a cereal-a-holic!  I can’t wait to start making some of the snack mixes that Chex has on their website!  The best part about these Chex (other than them being chocolate)?  They are $2.99!  The other Chex cereals are $3.49 at Kroger.  I don’t know why these are cheaper, but I bought 2 boxes.  🙂  This product gets 5 stars from me!! 

Want to know what else?  I found 3 out of the 4 Betty Crocker Mixes at Kroger!  WOOHOO!!!!  

003

I was a little disappointed at the price ($4.49/box) and that they didn’t have the Devil’s Food Cake, but hey, it is a start.  I’ll take it.  I am just excited that General Mills is taking this step.  It is huge!!  Gluten-free food has come a long way in the past 3 years since I have been following the diet.  I will review these 1 by 1 as I bake & sample them.  Hopefully starting tomorrow.  🙂

Prayers for Collin

This post will have nothing to do with Celiac Disease or the gluten-free diet.  This post is dedicated solely to asking for prayers & basically a miracle for a sweet 6 year old little boy who has been plagued by a horrible, devastating disease for the past 1.5 years of his life.  Collin was diagnosed with Devic’s Disease by the Center for Pediatric Onset Demyelinating Diseases (CPODD) at the University of Alabama in Birmingham on March 5, 2008.  Now , his family is struggling to deal with this devastating diagnosis and everything that comes with it. 

Here is a picture of Collin with his favorite Nascar Driver, Jimmy Johnson.

Collin’s family has sacrificed so much for his treatment and they have done whatever they have had to do to try to keep him well, including a move to another state for better treatment options.  This meant his parents had to change jobs & try to find new ones in this horrible economy.  Their house (the one they were unable to sell where they used to live) is in the process of foreclosure. 

I want so badly for things to turn around for Collin, for his family.  I am praying that they can get Collin well and work something out with their house.  Lisa & Carey, Collin’s parents, are amazing people with unbelievable strength & courage, but how much can one family handle? 

For more information on Collin & what he & his family are going through, including updates, please go here:  Collin’s Quest

LiveJournal Tags: