Product Review: Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix

I have read many good reviews of Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix, so I had to give it a try.  My go-to pizza crust mix has been Pamela’s GF Bread Mix, but I seem to go through my case so fast, I wanted something a little less expensive, as long as I wasn’t compromising taste.  I set out to make this last Saturday for dinner.  The directions were very easy to follow and the dough was fairly easy to work with.  A little sticky, but typical for gluten-free dough.  I topped half of the pizza with Prego Three Cheese Sauce and mozzarella, the other half was the Prego, mozzarella, fresh spinach, grape tomatoes & black olives.  I baked according to package directions.  I topped my pieces with Sriracha!  YUM!

brmpizveg1

brmpizveg

brmpiz

pizza

This crust was outstanding.  I was actually able to pick up my slice of pizza and hold it without it drooping down or falling apart!  It was the perfect combo of crispy & chewy textures.  Just like a pizza should be.  The nutritional stats are decent, too, due to using whole grains in the mix.  4 grams of fiber per serving!!  200 calories, 1 gram of fat & 3 grams of protein.  Kudos to Bob’s Red Mill and THANK YOU for catering to the gluten-free community the way that you do.  We truly appreciate it.  This crust cost about $4.25 – $4.50 per package at my local store, though I think I saw it at Wal-Mart for just under $4.00. 

Now, ready for the fantastic find?  I found this mix on sale today for $2.15/pkg!!!  I bought 8 of them!  WOOHOOO!!!  I am going to give this mix a try for some breadsticks & calzones, too! 

16 Responses

  1. Awesome! Thanks for the review. I’ve been wondering if I should try Bob’s pizza crust, but have been holding off. I will definitely buy some next time I go to the market!

  2. You make it look soooooo good. Thanks for getting me excited again about pizza. I found out we have one place about an hour from me, Pizza Fusion, that serves GF pizza.

  3. hey wanted to let you know that the bakery on main bars I got were super soft! surprised you ended up with hard ones! I have a ton a bars, so let me see if any others are also gluten free

  4. Hey kim! one other bar I love that is gluten free is Sencha Green Tea..awesome bars and love the kick of green tea

    • Oh, that is great!!! Thanks so much for the name of the Green Tea bar & the review on the other one. I will have to try the Bakery on Main bars again…they are on sale for under $4/box at my local health food store this month!

      Thanks again!

  5. nice blog! i’ve been waiting to finally use this mix out of my pantry. i was afraid of being disappointed. i’ll have to try it now, i’ve got no excuses. 🙂

    • Thanks Becky!! I would love to hear how you like it and what toppings you use. 🙂

      Kim

  6. […] Jump to Comments I sang the praises of Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix a week or so ago in this post.   Imagine how fast I ran to the store when I found out it was on sale!  […]

  7. Hi Kim,
    I’d like to feature a post on my blog about the pizza you made, but can’t seem to find a direct email for you. I had a few questions. Could you please email me? Thanks!

    Diana
    glutenfreeinspired@gmail.com

  8. […] ~ Bob’s Red Mill Pizza (cheese for fam, veggie for me) and […]

  9. […] Leftovers or homemade pizza (Bob’s Red Mill […]

  10. […] ~ Pizza night!  Bob’s Red Mill veggie for me, pepperoni for the family & […]

Leave a comment