Product Review: Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix

I have read many good reviews of Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust Mix, so I had to give it a try.  My go-to pizza crust mix has been Pamela’s GF Bread Mix, but I seem to go through my case so fast, I wanted something a little less expensive, as long as I wasn’t compromising taste.  I set out to make this last Saturday for dinner.  The directions were very easy to follow and the dough was fairly easy to work with.  A little sticky, but typical for gluten-free dough.  I topped half of the pizza with Prego Three Cheese Sauce and mozzarella, the other half was the Prego, mozzarella, fresh spinach, grape tomatoes & black olives.  I baked according to package directions.  I topped my pieces with Sriracha!  YUM!

brmpizveg1

brmpizveg

brmpiz

pizza

This crust was outstanding.  I was actually able to pick up my slice of pizza and hold it without it drooping down or falling apart!  It was the perfect combo of crispy & chewy textures.  Just like a pizza should be.  The nutritional stats are decent, too, due to using whole grains in the mix.  4 grams of fiber per serving!!  200 calories, 1 gram of fat & 3 grams of protein.  Kudos to Bob’s Red Mill and THANK YOU for catering to the gluten-free community the way that you do.  We truly appreciate it.  This crust cost about $4.25 – $4.50 per package at my local store, though I think I saw it at Wal-Mart for just under $4.00. 

Now, ready for the fantastic find?  I found this mix on sale today for $2.15/pkg!!!  I bought 8 of them!  WOOHOOO!!!  I am going to give this mix a try for some breadsticks & calzones, too! 

Gluten-Free Boy Makes French Toast

Jon has recently taken an interest in cooking.  More power to him, I think that is fantastic.  This is about the age that I took an interest in cooking as well.  He loves French Toast, so that is one of the first things he wanted to make.  I am pretty sure that Grandma Mary has shown him how before, but I know that they have been taking a class in school that has gone over the basics of cooking. 

I have to say that I was very impressed with his egg cracking technique!  Go Jon!  He uses 1 or 2 eggs, a splash of milk and some vanilla in his egg wash.  He then dips in some Pamela’s Gluten-Free Bread & coats it well.  Then he placed the slices in a hot pan (tested with a flick of water from his hands first; if it doesn’t sizzle, he will wait 😉 ).  Then he cooks completely on both sides.    When his French Toast is done cooking, he tops with a sprinkle of cinnamon & way too many other sweet things.  This day in particular was powdered sugar, chocolate chips & Aunt Jemima (gluten-free).  I am shocked he didn’t throw whipped cream on there too!  I am sure he got his blood sugar up after this breakfast!

004

Since this cooking session, he has gone on to make scrambled eggs, grilled ham & cheese and pizza from Kinnikinnick frozen pizza crusts.  He is becoming quite the cook!  Go Jon!  I am very proud of him. 

LiveJournal Tags: ,

A Little Slice of Gluten-Free Heaven

Today is Cinco de Mayo!  YAY!  But, that is not what I am here to blog about.  Oh no.  There is something much more exciting going on in the gluten-free world than Mexican food & margaritas (I know, hard to believe, right?).  Today is the launch of Starbuck’s Gluten-Free Valencia Orange Cake!!!  I have been waiting for this day since I first heard about the cake. How freaking exciting!  Can you tell I am excited?  The number of places offering gluten-free food/products is growing so fast.  When I first went gluten-free back in January 2006, there weren’t nearly as many options as there are out there now. 

001

I hit up Starbuck’s at 6 AM, right after my trip to the gym.  I didn’t care that I was sweaty & stinky, I just wanted my gluten-free slice of heaven and a Grande Decaf.  I was impressed that they had a whole tray of samples out!  I sampled a small piece right there.  I immediately tasted the orange and noticed how moist the cake was.  I was very impressed.  Awesome flavor & texture.  Truly, heaven.  I bought 2, one for me, one for Jon.  They only cost $1.95!!  Can you believe that??  I commented on that to the guy working the counter and he said that they were in line with the rest of their baked goods.  I explained that gluten-free items are usually more expensive, but don’t take that as an opportunity to raise the price on me. 😉  He said that he had never tried anything gluten-free before, but did try this cake and thought it was very good. 

The cakes are 290 calories, 16 grams of fat, 4 grams of fiber and 9 grams of protein.   I was shocked that it had so much protein, but then saw that whole eggs were the first ingredient.  Jon ate his for breakfast and loved every minute of it.  He seriously sat at the table oohing & ahhing over each & every bite.  I should have videoed it! 

003

006

So, if you have a chance today, head to your closest Starbuck’s and pick up your own little slice of gluten-free heaven!   I see a lot more of these in my future!  Good thing my Starbuck’s is right next to my gym so I can go run off the cake!  LOL!