Z Pizza – A Gluten-Free Party & Review

Last night I met up with a bunch of other Celiac/gluten-free people in Columbus.  These are all people that I have met online, either through the blog world or Twitter.  It was so great to put faces (and voices) with names and to meet some of their friends and/or family members.  Jay at The Gluten-free Post was nice enough to organize this function with Z Pizza for us. 

Once we all said “Hello” and sat down, we were given the gluten-free menu to browse over.  I was very impressed by the selection of items that were gluten-free.  Almost every style of pizza on the menu could be modified to be gluten-free.  Heaven!!  Also, they offered 2 different gluten-free beer choices!!  They had New Grist and Bard’s Tale

I started off with a Greek salad.  I was so excited about all the choices, I totally forgot to take a picture of it!  HA!  Aaron stayed home with the kids and I brought a co-worker of his who also has Celiac, Lindsay.  Lindsay has only been gluten-free for 4 months, so she had yet to experience gluten-free beer.  Lindsay & I decided on 2 different pizzas to share.  We ordered the Moroccan. (basil, eggplant, mozzarella, feta cheese, pesto & pine nuts) and the Mediterranean (mozzarella, feta, artichoke hearts, roasted peppers, Greek olives, pili pili oil, and oregano. 

The Moroccan:

001

The Mediterranean:

002

The pizzas were amazing.  There is nothing like beer & pizza.  Lindsay said she was “in heaven”!  Lots of good sounds coming from the table at Z Pizza last night. 

As we were finishing up our chatting & dinner, the staff brought out some cookies for us.  We all looked around like wondering if they were gluten-free and sure enough, they were!  Coconut Macaroons & Peanut Butter cookies.  OMG…they were amazing!!  I asked where they got them from and turns out that they make them there!  This place just kept getting better & better.  This is a definite repeat visit place.  THANK YOU Z PIZZA & JAY!!!

After dinner some of us walked a few blocks down to Jeni’s Ice Creams.  I have never seen so many unique flavors!!  I had to sample several before I made up my mind.  I sampled the Sweet & Salty Caramel, Dark Chocolate, Lemon & Blueberries and a Pear & Riesling Sorbet.  They were all amazing, but the Dark Chocolate was amazing…so smooth & rich!  I got a kids size cup because I was already stuffed like a Thanksgiving turkey.  I seriously could have done without the salad, but I had to have it! LOL! 

This was a great night!  Great company, conversation & food.  It was so nice to meet everyone and I hope to see you all again at the next dinner or get together. 

19 Responses

  1. We have a Z Pizza here, though they don’t serve cookies and the beer they have is Redbridge. It’s my and several other celiacs I know favorite place. My mom instantly suggests it whenever we get together.

  2. I think I like Red Bridge better than New Grist or Bard’s. Glad you like Z Pizza too!! 🙂

  3. Next time, skip the salad and get more ice cream 😉

    Thanks for stopping by, Kimberly — glad you enjoyed your visit. Come back soon!

    • No doubt….absolutely skipping the salad next time! I need a GF Ice Cream sandwich! 😉 They are calling my name!!

  4. Oh we just drove by Z pizza the other night! Is the price reasonable? Because we may try it out at some point. 🙂

    • Price is very reasonable and the pizza really does rock. I love all of the different options. And, while I don’t know what the regular crust is like, the GF crust is like a flatbread…not greasy at all. Just perfect. 🙂

  5. I just fell in love with the Moroccan – I want to marry it 🙂

  6. Thanks for the nice review and for coming to the event last night. I’m glad that you enjoyed it and I hope to see you again soon.

  7. Great review Kim, I agree 100% that the pizza rocked! Alison and I are taking some friends down this Friday (yes, we’ll most likely do the Jeni’s walk as well). It was great meeting you and hanging out with the Cbus Celiacs! Looking forward to the next outing.

    • Eddie,

      It was great to meet you & Alison! I hope you have just as good of an experience this week. 🙂

      Kim

  8. […] Check out this great review from Gluten Free is Life… […]

  9. […] were some heavy hitter bloggers there too! Kim from Gluten Free Is Life has already posted her review on her […]

  10. […] up a little better than Uno’s.  Finally, we hit the jackpot – Z Pizza.  Z Pizza has an amazing selection of gluten-free pizzas & toppings, not to mention salad, gluten-free […]

  11. […] isn’t one, to my knowledge, that is serving gluten-free bread. Uno’s Chicago Grill, Z Pizza, Boston’s Gourmet Pizza and BJ’s Brewhouse are doing gluten-free pizza, but not bread […]

  12. omg I never get to eat pizza anymore because I can’t eat gluten. I can eat pizza now as long as I follow your recipe. I’m so excited now to make this!

Leave a comment