Product Review: Betty Crocker’s Gluten Free Devil’s Food Cake

After looking high & low, I finally found BC’s Gluten-Free Devil’s Food Cake at Giant Eagle.  Yes, Amazon had them, but you had to buy them by the case (6 boxes to a case) and I didn’t know at the time if they were “case-worthy” or not.  Those of you who used to watch Seinfeld when it was on will understand the “worthy” reference.  After baking the cake yesterday & diving in for dessert last night, I can definitely say that this cake is “case-worthy”.  Not only that, but if you sign up for Amazon’s “Subscribe & Save” plan, the case is only $20.26 and your shipping is free!  You choose the frequency of your shipment and can cancel at any time.  I think Amazon should pass along some commission to me as I refer all kinds of people to them.  Hmmmm.  Anyway, I digress. 

006

008

This cake was so easy to make.  All you need is 1 stick of butter (half a cup), 1 cup of water & 3 eggs.  I was going to add some sour cream or Greek yogurt for extra moistness, as I had heard reports of the cake being too dry, but I decided that I needed to follow directions exactly as the box read the first time I made the cake so I could accurately review the product.  Much to my surprise, the cake was very, very moist and delicious.  No need for the sour cream or Greek yogurt.  One thing that I think really helped is that I set the timer for 8 minutes under the lowest recommended baking time.  I then checked on the cake every 5 minutes until the toothpick inserted in the center came out clean.  I took the cake out right after that.  I can see where this could easily be over baked if your oven was not calibrated properly or you weren’t keeping a close eye on it.  I used to have an oven thermometer, but it fell on the bottom of my oven and then stopped working.  I really need to get a new one as proper temperature is everything when you bake. 

005

I let the cake cool on a rack, in the pan, for about an hour or so.  I was pressed for time, so I probably should have let it cool for longer, but I was still able to frost it without any consequences.  I carefully inverted the cake (8-inch round) onto my hand and then back onto my serving surface.  I then frosted with chocolate frosting (I used the recipe off of the Hershey’s Cocoa Can).  Here is the frosting recipe from the Hershey’s site:

“PERFECTLY CHOCOLATE” CHOCOLATE FROSTING
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine
2/3 cup HERSHEY’S Cocoa
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Melt butter. Stir in cocoa. Alternately add powdered sugar and milk, beating to spreading consistency. Add small amount additional milk, if needed. Stir in vanilla. About 2 cups frosting.

Perfection!! 

011

 

I served this cake last night to my Dad, Step-Mom, Christy & Regan (little sister).  They all loved it!  My Dad doesn’t even like chocolate cake & said it was good!  Now, that is saying something!  So, Betty Crocker, you are 3 for 3 so far.  The brownies, cookies & Devil’s Food Cake have all been hits.  Now, I have one last mix to sample:  The Yellow Cake Mix.  I hope to make the cake this week.  Maybe I will do some cupcakes with that mix!  The kids will love that! 

015

16 Responses

  1. Kim,

    That looks really good and thanks for the review!

    Pam
    http://www.alovefornewrecipes.blogspot.com

    • Thanks Pam! 🙂

      I just read your latest blog post…..the one with the energy bars? I have been meaning to try those & the coconut cream lara bars….now I have to find them! 🙂 I love lara bars!

      Kim

      • Your kindly welcome! Thanks for reading!

        I get the lara bars at Raisin Rack on Schrock Rd…..do you know where that is? I love the Peanut butter bar of her’s too!

        Happy Finding!

        Pam

  2. Pam…yes, I love the Raisin Rack! I hope to get there this week! 🙂

    Kim

  3. We go there alot…lol!!! Usually every week or every other. We get our Zevia there also. They have the best gluten free sections.

    Happy Sunday to ya,

    Pam

    P.S. Kim, were you the one that blogged about the bakery over in Worthington that has gluten free items. I seen now that after July 7 they will be totally GF. Cliff and I am going to be checking that out!

  4. Thanks for the Amazon information. I haven’t seen any of the Betty Crocker mixes in stores so I might just place an Amazon order.

    • Yeah, while I can get them locally, I think I am going the Amazon route on them b/c the price is much less. 🙂

      Kim

      ENJOY!

  5. Thanks for the review. I think I will have to do the Amazon thing as well since I can’t find them in the stores. I think the one thing I will like about these is they have probably made them to come out pretty consistently. That matters to me especially if fixing for company and such. I also like all the dessert recipes that make use of these mixes they have on their website. And the Hershey’s chocolate frosting? I haven’t tasted any better!
    Debbie

    • You are welcome! I grew up on that Hershey’s frosting, so it is all I know. YUM!! This cake is so easy! Great to have on hand. 🙂

  6. Glad you liked this too — I just made this this weekend (working on my post for it!) and thought it was delicious!

    • Yay! I am glad you liked it, too!! The more people that like it, the more that buy it, the more mainstream companies will make GF products!

      Can’t wait to read your post!

      Kim

  7. […] Frosting.  By the way, this frosting makes enough for 2 cakes this size.  When I made the Devil’s Food Cake a few weeks back, I froze the extra frosting and then defrosted it today by placing the container […]

  8. […] market to include a number of Chex cereals.  They also have the new Betty Crocker line of gluten-free baking mixes.  General Mills has started to use “gluten-free” on the back of their labels a lot […]

Leave a comment