Review: Nature’s Path Gluten-Free Waffles

I was so excited to fine these Organic Gluten-Free Buckwheat Wildberry waffles at the store the other day, I almost danced in the aisle.  Okay, I did dance in the aisle.  I typically eat Van’s Blueberry Waffles (the plain seem to crumble too much on me), but haven’t found these Nature’s Path waffles before.  Guess I had to come to North Carolina, all the way from Ohio, to get them!  Not only did I find them, they were on sale for $2.50 down from $3.69!  Score!   I had first heard about these from Erin at Gluten-Free with a Purpose.  I was thrilled to have these for breakfast this morning after 60 minutes on the elliptical machine!  I was starving! 

013

 

These toasted up quick & easily.  They didn’t fall apart, even when spreading my beloved Barney Butter on them.  The taste & texture were amazing…so much closer to the real thing than the Van’s Waffles.  Not that I don’t like the Van’s, I do, but when you are missing old favorites, it is nice to get as close as you can to the original.

After toasting, pre-topping:

014

After spreading with Barney Butter & Strawberry Simply Fruit & Hannah suggested I add some blueberries, too:

017

 

I hope that I can find these when I get back to Ohio!  5 stars from me!!!

So, if you have been thinking about trying these, and haven’t, pick some up!!  Be careful, though, the Buckwheat Wildberry are the only ones that Nature’s Path makes that are gluten-free. 

14 Responses

  1. YAY! I’m so glad you enjoyed the waffles.
    The plain Nature’s Path ones I bought actually had GLUTEN FREE on the front(just like the WildBerry) but I think they just recently turned GF. I guess it is like the Chex cereals, there are still “old” boxes on the shelves or all areas don’t stock the products?!?!

    • OOh! Good to know!!! THX! 🙂

      BTW, have you found the Betty Crocker Mixes yet? I haven’t seen them here in NC, but haven’t been in Ohio since 5/30 and they were supposed to come out 6/1.

      • no, i haven’t . i sent an email to my parents so they can be “on the lookout” as it seems the they see gf products in NC before TX:) but i guess if you haven’t found them in NC they probably won’t either. i’m dying to try the mixes!!!

  2. Hi Kimberly,

    I see you are from Ohio too! I am in Iberia, which is 1 hour north of Columbus. Was just wondering where you are?

    You have a very nice blog! Very informative!

    I also have a gluten free blog at:
    http://www.alovefornewrecipes.blogspot.com

    (but for the moment I am having some problems getting my blog to stay up)

    Have a great vacation,

    Pam

    • Hi Pam!

      We live in Lewis Center, right North of Columbus.

      Thanks for the compliment on my blog! Off to check out yours. 😉

      Kim

  3. OK, are these really good? Every waffle we’ve tried from the freezer section have had not taste or a bad taste. Of course many have rice or soy and some at our house can’t eat this. I’ll look for these on my next trip. I hope they have ingredients we can eat. I really miss being able to grab a waffle from the freezer. Thanks!

    • Diane,

      I thought they were really good, but remember, I put almond butter & fruit spread on them, not just syrup. I haven’t tried them with just syrup yet. The ingredients are listed on their website and are:

      Made with love and …
      Water, organic brown rice flour, organic potato starch, organic corn flour, organic soybean oil, organic tapioca starch, organic evaporated cane juice, organic buckwheat flour, organic potato flour, leavening (sodium acid pyrophosphate, sodium bicarbonate, monocalcium phosphate), natural flavor, non GMO soy lecithin, organic blueberries, sea salt, sodium citrate, sodium alginate, citric acid, organic elderberry juice extract.

      • Darn, rice and soy. We’re out. They did sound good and I eat mine with nut butters too. I’m with you on nut butters. Guess I still have to learn to make my own. That baking and measuring thing keeps coming up!

  4. Yes, Kim..I know where that is at. We are practically neighbors…lol!!!

    I hope my blog comes up for you, if not I am going to have a guy check it possibly this weekend to find out what is going on, because I don’t know why the heck it is doing that……..lol!!

    Thanks for checking!

    Pam

  5. Hi Kimberly,

    I like your blog. You are doing a good service to the gluten free and celiac community.

    I work at Nature’s Path…just wanted to let you know we have two other waffles that are gluten free: Mesa Sunrise & Homestyle.

    http://www.naturespath.com/products/waffles?tid=9&brand=All&nutri=All

    For a list of all our gluten free products check out our website under gluten free – we have 10 different adult and kids cereals, 5 kids rice bars (also great for adults!) & 3 waffles. We are looking to launch some new cereals soon and would love to get your honest feedback on them after they are launched.

    Kind regards
    Arjan

    • Arjan…

      Thanks for the info!! 🙂 I love Nature’s Path stuff! We love the kids rice bars and kids cereals! 🙂 Also a huge fan of the Mesa Sunrise cereal.

      I would love to give you feedback on the new cereals! Just email me at kbouldin@insight.rr.com to contact me. 🙂

      Thanks!

      Kim

    • Oh, and thank you for the compliments on my blog, I really enjoy writing it. 🙂

      Kim

  6. […] out this morning for breakfast on my brown rice cakes (I also spread them both atop my gluten-free Nature’s Path waffles the other […]

  7. […] top of peanut butter or almond butter toast or rice […]

Leave a comment