Review: Gillian’s Apple Pie/Crisp

In our care package that we received last week, we got a real special treat: An Apple Pie/Crisp from Gillian’s Foods. What a perfect fall dessert and easy to prepare! Just pop into the oven for an hour and 20 minutes and it is done! The house smelled heavenly while it was baking. My Mom put it in the oven right before the kids started Trick or Treating on Friday night. After our dinner, both Jon and I dug into the apple goodness. The pie crust edges were a little too crisp, but the crust in the pie dish, topped with the apple mixture, was very good. This is a great go-to dessert. Nice to have on-hand in your freezer for a quick dessert with no work on your part. We topped with Cool Whip (the new stuff, in the can!), but ice cream would be yummy too!

Menu Plan ~ November 3, 2008

Still sore and taking it easy here, so nothing elaborate for us on the menu this week. I haven’t even done my grocery shopping yet for the week, so that has got to tell you something. We do have lots of meat in the freezer, so I may just need to make a quick stop in for fresh veggies (assuming I can chew them sometime again), milk and lunch meat for the kids. I am flying by the seat of my pants with this menu plan….haven’t put one ounce of thought into it until I sat down at my laptop right now. So, let’s have at it!

Sunday ~ Oh, that was last night. Guess I don’t have to plan for that, huh? 😉
Monday ~ Spaghetti & meat sauce. I may do spaghetti squash since I have one that has been sitting here for 1+ weeks. The kids & DH will do Tinkyada. I would love to have salad, not sure I am there yet. I will make one for the kids & DH.
Tuesday ~ Grilled Chicken, brown rice and butternut squash.
Wednesday ~ Ice Skating & Hockey; out to dinner, maybe soup at Panera or Cheeseburger in Paradise
Thursday ~ Roast Chicken, Mashed Potatoes, veggies and cornbread.
Friday ~ Breakfast for dinner (eggs/French Toast/bacon/sausage)
Saturday ~ Homemade Pizza and salad (If I can’t eat a salad by then, I will cry)

Baked goods ~ HA! I do have a bunch of mixes that were sent in a care package, I don’t see it happening. I would like to try the Soft Pretzel’s (Miss Roben’s Mix) ASAP.

Make sure to pop over to Angela’s Kitchen (Thanks for hosting, Angela!) for the Gluten-Free Menu Swap and to Org Junkie for lots of other menu plans.