Cookie-A-Day: Day 3 – Dark Chocolate Snowstorms

010

I knew as soon as I found this recipe that I had to convert it to a gluten-free one.  I love chocolate.  I don’t think I can express how much I love chocolate.  I love the added touch of the powdered sugar, adding a “holiday” feel. 

Dark Chocolate Snowstorms

1 1/2 cups GF flour mix (I used Carol’s Sorghum Mix)

1/2 cup Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa

3/4 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp xanthan gum

1 1/4 cup dark brown sugar

1 stick of butter (1/2 cup)

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

Directions

1.  Best sugar & butter in mixing bowl until fluffy.  Beat in egg & vanilla. 

2.  Mix all dry ingredients together and then blend into the wet mix.  Mix well.

3.  Chill dough for 30 minutes.

4.  Roll dough into balls & bake at 350 for 12 minutes. 

5.  Let cool for 3-5 minutes on sheet & then remove to cooling rack.

6.  Dip in powdered sugar while still slightly warm.

***Tip for gluten-free cookie baking:  Chill the dough at least 30 minutes, even if the recipe does not call for it.  This helps the cookies not spread out too much on your baking sheet.  I speak from lots of tears & experience.  πŸ˜‰

Ready to go in the oven:

001

Ready to inhale:

008

012

__________________________________________________________

I had some people asking about the Catholic Potatoes I had on our Thanksgiving menu.  You can find the recipe for them here, on The Examiner. 

 

See you tomorrow for the end of week 1 of Cookie-A-Day!

 

 

14 Responses

  1. Yum! If I wanted to use Pamela’s baking mix, I’d omit the salt, baking soda and xanthan gum, right? (I haven’t gotten into flour blends yet)

    I’m also looking at the sweet potato cookie recipe and trying to decide whether to use sweet potatoes since I have some cooked, or canned pumpkin. (probably no coconut though)

    Thanks for the recipes!

  2. This sounds great! I love the flavours =D.

  3. Does it really need saying that these look amazing? I haven’t had a successful home baked cookie since I was diagnosed this summer – but these look so yummy I’m going to give cookie baking another shot.

    And just so its said? I’m so grateful to you and your site. The recipes are such a help – and while I’m sure Pamala’s baking mixes are swell (since so many gf sites seem to use only the mixes as bases) the whole allergic to almonds means finding recipes like yours keeps me from being driven completely nutters while trying to figure it out!

    • Thank you, Jenna! I am glad that I can help. I hope that you have success with these cookies & enjoy them. πŸ™‚

      Kim

  4. These are so pretty and you simply can’t go wrong with chocolate. I finally got some GF flour mix, but now I need to get xanthan gum. We aren’t restricted to GF, but I do like to experiment with grains so I want to give it a try.

    • Lori,

      I am looking forward to see how your GF baking works out! πŸ™‚ What GF flour mix did you buy? Some have xanthan or guar gum in it already. πŸ™‚

      Kim

  5. I’ve really been enjoying all the varieties of cookies you’ve been baking. So far, I think this is my favorite. I used to make a glutenous version of these as a kid. I called them chocolate crinkles. Looking forward to seeing what other cookies you’ve been baking.

  6. I do love chocolate! Thank you for sharing this on Friday Foodie Fix.

  7. Sharon Stone is the precise same age as Madonna. However imo Madonna looks youthful. But nonetheless Sharon once mentioned ” I can turn a gay man straight in five minutes!” …hahah…Isn’t that hilarious?

Leave a comment