New General Mills Gluten-free List

As I was tweeting about today in twitterland, I saw a tweet that said that General Mills had a new gluten-free product list on their website.  I immediately clicked right on over to check it out.  I was very pleased to see the number of items on the list.  I did happen to notice that Strawberry Chex was not listed, however, the box states “Gluten-free” on the front.  Wonder what that is all about.  I have noticed in the stores lately that more & more of the products that are made by General Mills that are GF are being labeled “gluten-free”.  I will gladly support a company that makes my life easier.  🙂

In addition to the gluten-free product list on the site, they also have gluten-free recipes.  I may or may not have found a new recipe to try out from the site that I may include in “Cookie-A-Day”.  🙂

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Make sure to keep checking back daily for new cookie recipes! 🙂  I hope you guys are having as much fun with the “Cookie-A-Day” posts as I am.  I am going to have a wonderful selection of cookies come Christmas!

 

LiveJournal Tags: ,

Product Review: Rios of Austin

A few weeks back I was contacted by  Ben from Rios of Austin to sample their Gluten-free Cheese Bread.  I accepted the offer of free samples & have really enjoyed testing them out.  Rios of Austin has 3 different flavors of cheese breads to choose from: Original, Basil & Roasted Red Pepper. 

First we tried out the Original with a meal of chicken parmesan, spaghetti & asparagus.

003

They were very tasty & cheesy.  They reminded me a bit of Chebe bread, but better.  These were fun to dip in the sauce, too!  I only got 2 from the package – Jon snagged the rest! 

The Basil breads were awesome with a wonderful flavor.  They are perfect for pairing with an Italian meal.  I also like to eat them with a large salad. 

The Roasted Red Pepper were my favorite.  I love the texture of cheese breads & the red pepper flavor really added a nice layer to them. 

If you are looking to try some Rios of Austin Cheese Breads, you can go here to see if they are at a store close to you.  If you can’t find them in a store near you, you can order them online here

 

 

Cookie-A-Day: Day 2- Sweet Potato Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

For this cookie, I was inspired by Tina of Carrots’n’Cake.  She made Sweet Potato Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.  I knew once I read that post that I had to make them.  I just happened to have a can of sweet potato puree on hand, so off I went!  I made a few alterations to make the recipe gluten-free.  My changes are below:

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats (Used Bob’s Red Mill GF Oats)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

These cookies were awesome!  They aren’t as sweet as a typical oatmeal raisin cookie, but that is fine.  They are chewy & I love the different textures going on. 

053 

A great cookie to offer at Christmas time as a healthier choice.  I went ahead & froze most of these to test out how they freeze.  The result?  They don’t only freeze well, but they are pretty darn good when frozen, too!