Review: Jelly Belly Sport Beans

I don’t know if I have mentioned it here or not, but I am currently training for a half-marathon that is coming up in October.  I have never run in a race before, unless you want to count a 5K walk/run that I did in 3rd grade when we lived in New Jersey.  No worries, I am going to run in a 10K this month to “break the seal” and see what the hoopla is all about before the big day in October.  I started running on & off in the Spring of 2008.  I really started to get more into it in December of 2008 and have never looked back. 

Now that I have been increasing my mileage and running more than an hour at a time, I needed to find some kind of “fuel” to eat before or during my run.  I am a sucker for jelly beans, so when I saw that Jelly Belly made Sport Beans, I knew I had to try them.  All Jelly Belly beans (sports & regular) are gluten-free per a phone call made to the company in June 2009.  Some of the regular beans are labeled “gluten-free”.  I have not seen the “gluten-free” labeling on the Sport Beans yet. 

002

The 1 oz bag of Sport Beans are only 100 calories and contain carbs, electrolytes & vitamins B & C.  There are 6 different flavors, 2 of which also contain caffeine, if that is your thing.  These are a great, portable product to help keep your energy level sustained during those longer runs or bike rides. 

4 Responses

  1. yay! CAN’T WAIT FOR OUR RACE IN OCTOBER!

    • We will definitely have to meet up for lunch, breakfast or a meal/snack of some sort while you are here. 🙂

      I am so excited!

  2. how exciting kim! you go girl 🙂
    those energizing beans look muuuch more appetizing than the gels.

Leave a comment