Gluten-Free Salad Challenge

After reading about this salad challenge and realizing that I had missed the sign up date, I decided to make up my own, gluten-free salad challenge!  I love salads and eat them almost daily.  I do get in a rut, though, and this is just the thing to pull me out of that rut!  šŸ™‚  So, here is my challenge:

To eat at least 1 salad/day for 2 weeks.  Each salad has to contain the following:

~ At least 1 cup of salad greens (spinach, arugula, kale, mixed greens, etc)

~ At least 1 serving of another vegetable of a different color (tomatoes, carrots, red peppers, radishes, etc)

~ A source of protein (cheese…lots of choices, meat/meat sub., beans, nuts, eggs)

~ Dressing is optional, but I usually use at the very least EVOO & balsamic)

~ Bonus: Max. 1 handful or one serving of something else that I may not normally put in a salad or in the particular salad that I made.  I have been known to use Fritos as GF croutons!  So, things along those lines.  Maybe I’ll give cereal a try?  LOL! 

I am going to commit to this for 2 full weeks, starting on Wednesday, April 15, 2009 (tax day, what better day?).  Anyone else up for the Gluten-Free Salad Challenge?  Just post here or shoot me an email.   I’ll put together a little raffle for those who play along and enter your names into a contest and send out a GF Goody Bag!  šŸ™‚  For those who do play along for the GF Goody bag, make sure to document your salads. šŸ˜‰ 

Woohoo!!  I am excited!  I love challenges & goals and I love salads.  This will certainly inspire me to be more creative! 

LiveJournal Tags:

3 Responses

  1. Hey that looks like the challenge I’m hosting. Even if you missed the deadline, I’m sure everyone wouldn’t mind if you still participate! The more the merrier!

  2. Leng…I would like that! Thank you! I will go post on your blog post. šŸ™‚

    Kim

  3. […] Gluten-Free Salad Challenge Day #2 Jump to Comments I am so loving the salad challenge!  Today I had a salad for lunch that consisted of just spinach, grape tomatoes & pine nuts with a drizzle of Light Creamy French dressing.  This doesn’t really count in my salad challenge as it doesn’t meet all my “requirements“.  […]

Leave a comment