Gluten-Free Hand Care

Are your hands just a mess right now with the cold weather & dryness?  UGH!  My hands are just a mess.  I feel like I am constantly washing them.  I am sure that is adding to the nightmare that is in the form of cracks in the skin along my thumbs.  OUCH!  I try to remember to lotion up, but I literally wash my hands so much I am not sure that it helps.  Not only do we have gluten in the house, with my making sandwiches out of Whole Wheat bread for my daughter, but I baby-sit a little girl and after changing her diaper or wiping her nose, etc, I am washing my hands.  I am currently using Curel Targeted Therapy Hand & Cuticle Cream.  It works well, when I remember to use it or don’t wash it right off.  For more targeted treatment on the cracks, I have been using Aquaphor or Bacitracin and then covering with a band aid overnight. 

Anyone else have this issue?  What do you use for hand care?  All the products I use on my hands are gluten-free.  I know that gluten can’t be absorbed through the skin and isn’t an issue unless you have Dermatitis Herpetiformis, but if I eat with my hands, that could be a problem. 

 

LiveJournal Tags:

6 Responses

  1. Love your post my boss is on a gluten free diet. I will be sure and share this with him.

    Best,
    Fran

    Lift SP Plastic Surgery in a Bottle!

  2. Thank you, Fran. 🙂

  3. http://www.glutenfreeoptimist.blogspot.com/
    That’s funny – I just posted an article on my blog reviewing Vaseline products. You might like these two I mention in my article: vaseline hand cream and vaseline creamy. How about wearing disposable gloves in the kitchen sometimes to cut down on hand washing? Avoid hot water.

  4. Thanks for the link and the Vaseline info! I really should try the gloves when doing dishes at the very least. Also, I might be able to get some disposable gloves for diaper changes, to help cut back on hand washing.

    I always wash in luke warm water unless I have encountered raw meat or something contagious/biological, then I use hot.

  5. I have the same problem, and the older I get the worse it gets. But I’ve found a hand cream that really works – O’Keeffe’s Working Hands. It’s apparently sold in some hardware stores, though I found it on Amazon.com. Great stuff – gluten-free, odorless, and long-lasting.

  6. I bought a green jar of O’Keefe’s Working Hands at Home Depot 1 1/2 wks. ago, and it’s healing my cracked fingers! Only dry healing skin where open cracks were!
    I’m so impressed, and no painy pinkies.
    Cost is over $7., but so well worth it. Small jar goes a long way, and i apply it often all day.
    Doesn’t seem to have any gluten. Hope it helps.

Leave a comment