Gluten-Free Blueberry Chia Muffins

It is no secret that I love food.  To feed my fascination for food, I read many food blogs to get ideas for new things to bake or cook.  I happened upon a recipe the other day for Blueberry Chia Muffins over at Another Bites the Crust’s blog.   First, love the name of the blog, how clever! πŸ˜‰  The muffins looked so good in the picture and I had a bunch of fresh blueberries, so off I went to make some changes to convert this recipe to gluten-free.

019

Gluten-free Blueberry Chia Muffins

 

1  1/2 cups Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix

1/4 cup ground flax seed (I used Bob’s Red Mill)
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar
1 tbsp chia seeds mixed with 3 tbsp water (I used Ruth’s Chia Goodness that has hemp seeds & buckwheat in it too)
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup nondairy milk (I used Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze)
1 cup blueberries

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Combine chia seeds in water until it forms a gel-like substance.

Mix all dry ingredients in a large bowl and stir to combine.  In a separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients together.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry.  Fold in blueberries.  Bake in lined muffin tins for 15 to 20 minutes.  Check with a toothpick  inserted into the center for doneness.

017

024

WOW!!!  These are amazing!!!  Guess who ate them & loved them?  Mr. I-don’t-like-blueberries, none other than Jon, himself.  I couldn’t tell him about the other ingredients or he wouldn’t have touched them!  HA!!  Super healthy!  Jon asked me to make them into banana nut muffins next time.  I feel an experiment coming soon!

**If you want to make these non-gluten-free, just replace the Pamela’s mix with whole wheat flour. 

11 Responses

  1. Ok, these look amazing, but I have several questions!

    1. Do you use ground flaxseed or flaxseed meal? I’m not sure what the difference is and I’m not sure what to buy.
    2. I’ve never used Chia or Hemp seeds. What are the health benefits?
    3. Do you have to use non-dairy milk? Can I use light soymilk?

    Can’t wait to see the Banana Nut recipe!!! πŸ™‚

    • Ground flaxseed. πŸ™‚ Yes, any non-dairy milk should work. πŸ™‚

      I bought my Ruth’s Chia Goodness at Whole Foods. I have eaten as cereal w/ almond milk & fruit, too!

  2. Ok, I’m sorry. I should have just read your Chia link. Sounds like I should buy some! So, you don’t need to answer #2…. πŸ˜‰

  3. […] Gluten-Free Blueberry Chia Muffins […]

  4. Yum! Thanks for making these allergy free for me (we can’t do dairy or eggs here)

    • Oh, you are welcome!!! They are really good, not that I am tooting my own horn. I served them to several non-gluten-free people today and they all loved them!

      Kim

  5. […] Gluten-Free Blueberry Chia Muffins […]

  6. Thanks for the tip! πŸ™‚

  7. Those look yummy! And I love how you put a blueberry in the center, so clever!
    Thanks for joining in the fun at Cupcake Tuesday!
    ~Liz

  8. I’ve never had my own chia pet or chia head or whatnot, but they look cool on TV. I just eat the seeds and I swear, they help sooo much as far as energy and feeling good throughout the day goes. I honestly started feeling so much better on a day-to-day basis after I started putting them in my smoothies about a year ago. The one’s I get are Chia Pure. Chia Seeds Right Now they are even buy 1
    get 1 free!

Leave a comment