Product Review: Glutino Pretzels

One of the big things I missed when going gluten-free was pretzels.  I love pretzels.  Small & crunchy, warm, soft & hot.  I don’t think I have met a pretzel that I didn’t like.  Oh yeah, that is because they are purely carbs!  HA! 

There are a couple of companies that make gluten-free pretzels.  Ener-G makes some good pretzels.  Glutino is the latest on my list for review. 

015

The Glutino pretzels are awesome.  They are crunchy & crispy, with just the right amount of salt.  I loved pairing these twists with my sandwiches for lunch. 

016

If you made me choose between these 2 brands of pretzels, I would have to go with the Glutino as the better pretzel.  🙂  Now, if you will excuse me.  I need to go get some water.  These pretzels are making me thirsty. 😉  LOL!  Sorry, I couldn’t help myself. 

If you are looking for a gluten-free hot soft pretzel, there are some at my local health food store, but I can’t bring myself to pay $17+ for them.  I have made bagels from Pamela’s Bread Mix before and topped with sea salt & they were very reminiscent of hot soft pretzels. 

 

 

10 Responses

  1. The Glutino pretzel sticks with hummus are my absolute favorite snack!

  2. Call me crazy, but I have found the Glutino pretzels always taste burnt to me. My son loves them, but at $8 or something a bag, I don’t spring for them very often!

  3. I used a tip from you and ordered a huge amount of Pamela’s pancake mix. Thanks. Saved a lot of money. What all do you make with this besides pancakes and cookies?

  4. The Glutino pretzels are actually better than any gf or glutened pretzels, according to my DH and I. There are only 2 downsides – the fat content (6g per serving) and the sodium level (a bit high). My local Whole Foods carries the regular sticks and twists, but not the unsalted twists. I found them online (cheapest at vitacost, I think) and they’re very good. The fat is unchanged, of course, but the sodium level is down to 120mg a serving (5% of daily value/limit according to the label). Unlike other unsalted pretzels, these still have a bit of salt taste to them (not completely bland) with a nice crunchy sweetness just like the salted ones, just without the salt on the outside. (works very well w/ almond butter or peanut butter esp. fresh ground honey roasted pb) They may also be available from amazon, but in larger quantity whereas vitacost allowed individual 8oz bag orders so that we could try just a couple bags to see if we liked it. Enjoy!

  5. They taste good, but are full of saturated fat (palm oil). 17g of fat in an average serving. Rolled gold (not gluten free) have ZERO fat. I won’t eat these, they taste great, but they aren’t worth the atherosclerosis!

    • Hi Buffy,

      I just checked the bag and there are 8 grams of fat per serving of 44 pretzels (40g). While they are indeed higher in fat than the Rold Gold or gluten-filled pretzels, they are one of the few options for those who must follow a gluten-free diet.

      Kim

Leave a comment