Head Buried in the Sand

Where have I been the last whoknowshowmanyyears that spaghetti squash has been around? Why has this veggie never been introduced to me? I bought my first spaghetti squash about a month ago and followed the directions on the sticker on it for baking. When it was done, I thought I had done something wrong b/c there were seeds everywhere. Apparently I was a little confused about what from the inside needs to be scooped out and tossed and what stays. I ended up tossing the squash and Aaron told me that I was never buying it again. Ok, fine. Well, I happened to see a Rachael Ray show the other day where she showed how to cook a spaghetti squash and discovered that I had not scooped out all the needed to be scooped and I decided I really needed to try again. I am a veggie lover and can’t see how I couldn’t like spaghetti squash. So, I took the plunge and when I made the kids and Aaron spaghetti tonight, I made my self another spaghetti squash. I scooped all the correct parts out (seeds and stingy pulp). I placed the squash, sliced side up in a baking dish with 1/4 cup of water in it. I covered with saran wrap (don’t get me started on that product) and microwaved for 12 minutes. I let it sit for 5 more minutes and low and behold, when stroked with a fork, the “meat” turned into spaghetti!! OH.MY.GOD. I did it right!! I did a little happy dance (it may have been a big happy dance if I had had my wine before dinner 😉 ) and made my big plate up of spaghetti squash topped with yummy meat sauce topped with fresh grated parmesan cheese. I sat down and was a little hesitant to try it, but WOW…..it was really, really good. Talk about a comfort food. This could possibly be one of my new favorites. Who needs gluten-free spaghetti when you have spaghetti squash? Now, I didn’t say that I didn’t need my mac & cheese or lasagna, just spaghetti. I could see topping this stuff with pesto, alfredo, veggies with a touch of butter and parmesan…..the list could go on & on. I really feel as if my head has been buried in the sand for a long time. I could kick myself for not trying this sooner.

For anyone who is interested in learning how to make spaghetti squash, there is a nice written explanation here. There is also a yummy looking recipe for Southwest Spaghetti Squash that looks very good too.

5 Responses

  1. I was SO pleasantly surprised to see this post in my inbox this morning! I tried spaghetti squash for the very first time last night for dinner. I roasted ours in the oven and then warmed up canned sauce with browned ground turkey. It was a little different, but I loved it and my kids gobbled it up! SO glad to have discovered this wonderful substitute for spaghetti!
    Kim K.

  2. Kim,

    So glad to hear that you tried SS and liked it so much! 🙂 I am looking forward to trying all kinds of new recipes with it. Glad your kids liked it too. I have yet to give it to my kids. That will be next time. 🙂

    Kim

  3. Whyfore you put no pictures, Kimmer??

  4. LOL Kelly! I didn’t get around to it…I was too hungry! LOL! Sorry!!

  5. […] to makes some butternut squash along with it and I was quickly in love. I have now branched out to Spaghetti Squash, one of my new […]

Leave a comment