Safe and Unsafe Ingredients

Even though I have been following this diet for coming up on 3 years, I still consult my safe & forbidden lists every now and then to refresh myself, especially on those items that I don’t use frequently. I wanted to post them here so that they would be readily available to those who are just starting or just need to glance at them for a specific reason in a hurry.

Let’s start with the SAFE ingredients. That is much more positive than going over the stuff we can’t have, huh?

Acacia Gum
Acorn Quercus
Adipic Acid
Adzuki Bean
Acacia Gum
Agar
Alcohol (wine is fine; hard ciders ~ Woodstock is fine; Redbridge beer is fine)
Alfalfa
Algae
Algin
Alginate
Allicin
Almond Nut
Aluminum
Amaranth
Annatto
Annatto Color
Apple Cider Vinegar
Arabic Gum
Arrowroot
Artichokes
Artificial Flavoring
Aspartame
Aspic
Ascorbic Acid
Astragalus Gummifer
Baking Soda
Balsamic Vinegar
Beans
Bean, Adzuki
Bean, Hyacinth
Bean, Lentil
Bean, Mung
Bean Romano (Chickpea)
Bean Tepary
Benzoic acid
Besan
Betaine
BHA
BHT
Beta Carotene
Bicarbonate of Soda (check)
Biotin
Buckwheat
Butter, real
Butylated Hydroxyanisole
Butyl Compounds
Calcium Carbonate
Calcium Caseinate
Calcium Chloride
Calcium Disodium
Calcium Phosphate
Calcium Silicate
Calcium Stearate
Calcium Sulfate
Camphor
Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
Caprylic Acid
Carageenan Chondrus Crispus
Carboxymethylcellul ose
Carnauba Wax
Carob Bean
Carob Bean Gum
Carob Flour
Carrageenan
Casein
Cassava Manihot Esculenta
Castor Oil
Cellulose1
Cellulose Gum
Cetyl Alcohol
Cheeses (make sure to read label)
Chestnuts
Chickpea
Chlorella
Chymosin
Citric Acid
Collagen
Corn
Corn Gluten
Corn Meal
Corn Flour
Cornstarch
Corn Syrup
Corn Syrup Solids
Corn Swetener
Cortisone
Cotton Seed Oil
Cowitch
Cowpea
Cream of Tartar
Cysteine, L
Demineralized Whey
Desamidocollagen
Dextrose
Dioctyl Sodium
Distilled Vinegar
Eggs
Elastin
Ester Gum
Ethyl Alcohol
Ferrous Gluconate
Fish (check for additives)
Flaked Rice
Flax
Folic Acid-Folacin
Formaldehyde
Fructose
Fruit
Fumaric Acid
Gelatin
Glutamate
Glutamic Acid
Glutamine
Glycerides
Glycerol Monooleate
Glycol Monosterate
Glycol
Glycolic acid
Gram flour (chick peas)
Grits, Corn
Guar Gum
Hemp
Herbs
Honey
Hyacinth Bean
Hydrogen Peroxide
Hydrolyzed soy protein
Iodine
Inulin
Invert Sugar
Jobs Tears
Kasha (roasted buckwheat)
Keratin
Kudzu Root Starch
Lactic Acid
Lactose
Lanolin
Lecithin
Lentil
Lipase
Locust Bean Gum
Magnesium Carbonate
Magnesium Hydroxide
Maize
Maize Waxy
Malic Acid
Maltitol
Maltodextrin
Manioc
Masa
Masa Flour
Masa Harina
Meat (check for additives/flavorings)
Methyl Cellulose2
Microcrystallin Cellulose
Milk
Millet
Milo
Mineral Oil
Mineral Salts
Mono and Diglycerides
Monosodium Glutamate MSG (made in USA)
Monopotassium Phosphate
Mung Bean
Musk
Niacin-Niacinamide
Nuts (check labels if there are flavorings)
Nut, Acron
Nut, Almond
Oats, if they are labeled gluten-free (Lara’s made by Cream Hill Estates & Bob’s Red Mill both have GF Oats)
Oils and Fats
Oleyl Alcohol/Oil
Paraffin
Peas
Pea – Chick
Pea – Cow
Pea Flour
Pepsin
Peru Balsam
Petrolatum
Phenylalanine
Pigeon Peas
Polenta
Polyethylene Glycol
Polyglycerol
Polysorbates
Potassium Citrate
Potassium Iodide
Potassium Sorbate
Potatoes
Potato Flour
Prinus
Pristane
Propolis
Propylene Glycol
Propylene Glycol Monosterate
Propyl Gallate
Psyllium
Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
Quinoa
Ragi
Rape
Rennet
reticulin
Rice
Rice
Rice Flour
Rice Vinegar
Romano Bean (chickpea)
Rosin
Royal Jelly
Sago Palm
Sago Flour
Saifun (bean threads)
Scotch Whisky
Seaweed
Seed – Sesame
Seed – Sunflower
Sphingolipids
Soba (be sure its 100% buckwheat)
Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
Sodium Alginate
Sodium Ascorbate
Sodium Benzoate
Sodium Caseinate
Sodium Citrate
Sodium Erythrobate
Sodium Hexametaphosphate
Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
Sodium Nitrate
Sodium Phosphate
Sodium Silacoaluminate
Sodium Stannate
Sorbic Acid
Sorbitol-Mannitol
Sorghum
Sorghum Flour
Soy
Soybean
Soy Lecithin
Spices (pure, 100%)
Stearates
Stearamide
Stearamine
Stearic Acid
Subflower Seed
Succotash (corn and beans)
Sucrose
Sulfosuccinate
Sulfites
Sulfur Dioxide
Sweet Chestnut Flour
Tallow
Tapioca
Tapioca Flour
Tarrow Root
Tartaric Acid
TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinon e
Tea
Tea-Tree Oil
Teff
Teff Flour
Tepary Bean
Thiamine Hydrochoride
Tofu-Soya Curd
Tolu Balsam
Tragacanth
Tragacanth Gum
Tri-Calcium Phosphate
Turmeric (Kurkuma)
Tyrosine
Urad/Urid Beans
Urad/Urid Dal (peas) Vegetables
Urad/Urid flour
Vinegar (All except Malt)
Vanilla Extract
Vanilla Flavoring
Vanillin
Vinegars (Specific Types)
Vitamin A (retinol)
Waxy Maize
Whey
White Vinegar
Wines
Wine Vinegars (including Balsamic)
Wild Rice
Xanthan Gum
Yam Flour
Yogurt (make sure to check labels, some brands/types are NOT safe)

See, that leaves all kinds of things that we Celiacs can eat!

Ingredients that we should always question:

Questionable Ingredients

Natural Flavors/Flavorings (can contain malt, made from barley)
Soy Sauce (most are brewed from/with wheat; La Choy is safe)
Modified Food Starch (will be labeled if the source is wheat; it is a law as of 2006)
Spices (100% spices are fine, some spice mixes or combinations may contain gluten; always check if you are not sure)

Now, onto the Unsafe List:

Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
Barley Hordeum vulgare
Barley Malt
Beer
Bleached Flour
Blue Cheese (made with bread ~ some are safe, I have never investigated it b/c I hate it!)
Bran
Bread Flour
Brewers Yeast
Brown Flour
Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
Bulgur Wheat
Cereal Binding
Chilton
Club Wheat
Common Wheat
Couscous
Dextrimaltose
Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
Edible Starch
Einkorn
Emmer
Farina
Farina Graham
Filler
Flour (normally this is wheat)
Fu (dried wheat gluten)
Germ
Graham Flour
Granary Flour
Groats (barley, wheat)
Hard Wheat
Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol
Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch
Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
Kamut
Malt
Malt Extract
Malt Syrup
Malt Flavoring
Malt Vinegar
Macha Wheat
Matzo Semolina
Mir
Oriental Wheat
Pasta
Pearl Barley
Persian Wheat
Poulard Wheat
Polish Wheat
Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
Rye
Seitan
Semolina
Semolina Triticum
Shot Wheat
Small Spelt
Spelt
Sprouted Wheat or Barley
Strong Flour
Suet in Packets
Tabbouleh
Teriyaki Sauce (La Choy is GF)
Textured Vegetable Protein – TVP
Timopheevi Wheat
Triticale X triticosecale
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
Udon (wheat noodles)
Unbleached Flour
Vavilovi Wheat
Vegetable Starch
Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
Wheat amino acids
Wheat Bran Extract
Wheat, Bulgur
Wheat Durum Triticum
Wheat Germ Extract
Wheat Germ Glycerides
Wheat Germ Oil
Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
Wheat Nuts
Wheat Protein
Wheat Triticum aestivum
Wheat Triticum Monococcum
Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
Whole-Meal Flour
Wild Einkorn
Wild Emmer

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers