New General Mills Gluten-free List

As I was tweeting about today in twitterland, I saw a tweet that said that General Mills had a new gluten-free product list on their website.  I immediately clicked right on over to check it out.  I was very pleased to see the number of items on the list.  I did happen to notice that Strawberry Chex was not listed, however, the box states “Gluten-free” on the front.  Wonder what that is all about.  I have noticed in the stores lately that more & more of the products that are made by General Mills that are GF are being labeled “gluten-free”.  I will gladly support a company that makes my life easier.  :)

In addition to the gluten-free product list on the site, they also have gluten-free recipes.  I may or may not have found a new recipe to try out from the site that I may include in “Cookie-A-Day”.  :)

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Make sure to keep checking back daily for new cookie recipes! :)  I hope you guys are having as much fun with the “Cookie-A-Day” posts as I am.  I am going to have a wonderful selection of cookies come Christmas!

 

LiveJournal Tags: ,

Product Review: Rios of Austin

A few weeks back I was contacted by  Ben from Rios of Austin to sample their Gluten-free Cheese Bread.  I accepted the offer of free samples & have really enjoyed testing them out.  Rios of Austin has 3 different flavors of cheese breads to choose from: Original, Basil & Roasted Red Pepper. 

First we tried out the Original with a meal of chicken parmesan, spaghetti & asparagus.

003

They were very tasty & cheesy.  They reminded me a bit of Chebe bread, but better.  These were fun to dip in the sauce, too!  I only got 2 from the package – Jon snagged the rest! 

The Basil breads were awesome with a wonderful flavor.  They are perfect for pairing with an Italian meal.  I also like to eat them with a large salad. 

The Roasted Red Pepper were my favorite.  I love the texture of cheese breads & the red pepper flavor really added a nice layer to them. 

If you are looking to try some Rios of Austin Cheese Breads, you can go here to see if they are at a store close to you.  If you can’t find them in a store near you, you can order them online here

 

 

Cookie-A-Day: Day 2- Sweet Potato Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

For this cookie, I was inspired by Tina of Carrots’n’Cake.  She made Sweet Potato Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.  I knew once I read that post that I had to make them.  I just happened to have a can of sweet potato puree on hand, so off I went!  I made a few alterations to make the recipe gluten-free.  My changes are below:

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats (Used Bob’s Red Mill GF Oats)
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour (I used Pamela’s Baking & Pancake Mix)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

These cookies were awesome!  They aren’t as sweet as a typical oatmeal raisin cookie, but that is fine.  They are chewy & I love the different textures going on. 

053 

A great cookie to offer at Christmas time as a healthier choice.  I went ahead & froze most of these to test out how they freeze.  The result?  They don’t only freeze well, but they are pretty darn good when frozen, too! 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers