Weekly Menu Plan – November 1, 2009

Wow….what a month October was.  Lots of sadness.  I am hoping and praying for a better month in November. 

Esther, at Lilac Kitchen, is hosting this week’s Gluten-Free Menu Swap.  Esther has chosen dried fruit as the ingredient of the week.  I love dried fruit!  I add raisins, Craisins, dried apricots or dried figs to all of my salads.  I eat dried apricots for snacks.  I top my oatmeal with whatever dried fruit I have around.  Thanks for hosting, Esther.  :)

Sunday – Leftover grilled chicken, roasted veggies & salad

Monday – Salmon, coconut rice, asparagus & salad

Tuesday – Roasted vegetable stir fry & salad

Wednesday – BBQ pulled pork, baked potatoes, green beans & salad

Thursday – Spaghetti w/ marinara, broccoli & salad

Friday – Pizza & salad

Saturday – Anniversary dinner!

Baked Goods

Bread

Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies

Pumpkin Cornbread

 

Aaron’s & my anniversary is November 4th!  We have been married for 9 years!  I am still as much in love with him as the day I married him, if not more.  :)  He is my knight in shining armor. 

 

Don’t forget to check out Orgjunkie for lots more menu ideas. 

 

LiveJournal Tags:

Rest in Peace

On August 26, 2009, Wyatt Andrew & Jackson Christopher were born prematurely to my sister, Kelly & her husband, Greg.  Wyatt passed away on October 9, 2009.  Yesterday, Jack lost his battle and joined his brother Wyatt and sister baby B (who died in utero) in heaven. 

I was reading the guest book on Wyatt & Jack’s Caring Bridge site and saw this poem:

God looked around His garden
And He found an empty place.
And then He looked down
upon the earth,
And saw your tired face.
He put His arms around you,
And lifted you to rest.
God’s garden must be beautiful,
He always takes the best.
He knew that you were suffering,
He knew you were in pain,
He knew that you would never
Get well on earth again.
He saw the road was getting rough,
And the hills were hard to climb,
So He closed your weary eyelids,
And whispered “Peace be thine.”
It broke our hearts to lose you.
But you didn’t go alone,
For part of us went with you,
The day God called you home.
~author unknown~

I am writing this post in memory of those little angels that I never got to meet.  I had just given Jack a new nickname the other day – Jackaroni.  Kelly thought it was cute because she is also singing the song that says “stuck a feather in his cap & called it macaroni” to her older son, Noah.  My love & prayers are going out to my sister, her husband & big brother Noah (he will be 2 in January). 

Rest in Peace, Jack. 

 

 

LiveJournal Tags: ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers