Operation Beautiful

Caitlin over at Healthy Tipping Point has started a wonderful program this week.  It is called “Operation Beautiful“.  The idea is to end fat talk one anonymous post-it note at a time.  All you need to participate in Operation Beautiful is a pen and a piece of paper (tape or post-it note).  Write down a positive message and then leave the note posted on mirrors in bathrooms at the gym, grocery stores, work, really any public place.  I chose to write down this….”You are beautiful.  Don’t let anyone tell you any different” on my note.  I left my first note on the mirror in the bathroom at my sports med doctor today.  Hannah asked what I was doing with my camera & paper in the bathroom and I told her that I was hopefully making someone’s day a little brighter.  Funny part?  A lady walked in when I was taking the picture & gave me a strange look.  Hopefully she read the note when she came out of the stall to wash her hands. 

Here is my picture:

001

 

So, get your pen & paper & make someone’s day a little brighter. 

 If you want to join the mission, send Caitlin an e-mail at seebriderun@gmail.com with a photograph of your Operation Beautiful note or a description of your experience, and she will post it on her blog !  And feel free to spread the word on your blog as well!

LiveJournal Tags:
17 Responses

  1. Found you through Eat Live Run and then Caitlin’s blog. Glad to see another GF blog – I may be going GF myself.
    Off topic question – I love the Nike tank you’re wearing but haven’t seen it anywhere; can you tell me if it’s new and if so, where you got it.
    Thanks for the product reviews, it’s encouraging to see mainstream brands producing GF options. I have to try the chex, love snacking on cereal!

    • Hi MJ!

      First, the Nike tank…I got it at Kohl’s about a month ago. I loved it when I saw it and had to have it. :)

      Please don’t hesitate to contact me if you have questions going GF. I like to help out if I can. :)

      Kim

  2. Oh my glory, amazing idea!! I plan to do that!

  3. I thought this was such a fantastic idea!

  4. You look amazing! :) What an awesome idea!

  5. I love the empowerment in this post. I do believe that we need to value who we are and find things to be grateful for before our life can change for the better. I have been overweight and been ok with it. I have been thin and compeltely miserable. The biggest difference is how I choose to look at myself and life. Just for today, I am grateful for who I am. Thanks for sharing this wonderful idea.

    • Thank you for sharing Amy!

      I have suffered from anorexia in the past and kept thinking the thinner I would be, the happier I would be. So far from the truth. I was miserable.

      I like what you said “The biggest difference is how I choose to look at myself and life. Just for today, I am grateful for who I am.” Well said. :)

      Kim

  6. love it. thanks for sharing such a lovely idea.

  7. Thanks Cheryl! :)

    Kim

  8. Kim
    I absolutely love the Operation Beautiful idea! I carry post-its now for when the mood hits me. So far, I have posted notes in a bathroom at the Tulsa International Airport (my mom flew in for a visit) and the ladies room where my niece’s recital was on Saturday in Liberty, Mo! This is so cool!
    Thank you for passing on the idea.

  9. Love this idea, Kim! I think I’ll link it the next time I post on http://www.girlsgodgoodlife.blogspot.com

  10. [...] of Gluten free is Life.   She always has great recipes, but I particularly liked her “Operation Beautiful” [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

