Uno’s Chicago Grill ~ A Birthday Celebration

Last night we went to Uno’s Chicago Grill to celebrate Jon’s 13th birthday with my Dad, Step Mom ~ Christy & Regan.  Jon picked the place, of course, he loves the gluten-free pizza they have.  I wasn’t going to argue!  I called ahead to make sure they had some made up (they do all the prep for the gluten-free pizzas in the AM so that they can avoid cross-contamination….they get this whole GF thing!).  They did.  They have a new printed GF menu and they now have Red Bridge, a gluten-free beer!!  WOOHOO!!!  Pizza & beer, it doesn’t get better than that!  Of course I ordered a glass of Merlot…LOL!  I am such a woman. 

Jon & I ordered the gluten-free pepperoni pizza.  I would have preferred the veggie, but I caved since it was his birthday celebration.  I also ordered a house salad & steamed broccoli (a girl has to get her veggies somewhere!).  Jon had the Caesar salad and he didn’t care for it.  Normally he likes Caesar salads, but he said it tasted “too fishy”.  Well, they probably made the dressing with anchovy paste, you think?  LOL!  Aaron took it off of his hands for him.  :) 

Below, I present, Gluten-Free Heaven:

gfpizza

The girls (Hannah & Regan) ordered Make-Your-Own-Pizzas.  It was cute.  The waitress brought them out pizza dough with the sauce for them to spread & cheese for them to add.  They had fun, though Hannah had Daddy spread her sauce.

p

Now she is ready to do the cheese!

myop

Regan making her pizza:

regpi

Jon getting his b-day present.  What more could a 13-year old boy want?  GF Pizza & Best Buy Gift Cards!  He is set!

jongc

The group, from left, Aaron, Me, Christy, & my Dad. 

group

 

We had a wonderful time!!  Thanks Dad, Christy & Regan for an awesome dinner!  Thanks Uno’s for catering to those of us who have to follow a gluten-free diet to stay healthy.  We will be going back. 

Swine Flu…..Scary Stuff

This Swine Flu stuff really has got me freaked out?  How about you?  I know there is not a whole lot that one can do, and I think that is the scariest part.  I am already an obsessive hand washer, mostly due to the fact that my kitchen is not completely gluten-free, how many times in a day can I wash my hands?  Not only that, but I watch a little girl who is still in diapers, so I wash my hands each time I change her, wipe her nose, etc.  Maybe I should count tomorrow.  That certainly would be interesting, huh? 

I got a tweet (Is that what you call it?  This Twitter stuff is deep.  I can’t wrap my brain around it.  Just when I got Facebook down, everybody now Twitters too) that talks about the gluten-free status of the drugs that can treat the Swine Flu.  I wanted to share it here so that the gluten is the least of your concerns should you or a loved one be infected with the Swine Flu.  See here for the gluten-free status of Tamiflu & Relenza.  Additionally here are some Swine Flu FAQ.

I live in Ohio and there is one confirmed case in Northern Ohio, a 9-year old boy, who I believe had traveled to Mexico.  On the Noon news today they announced that there is now a “probable” case in Franklin County (Columbus), the county next to ours.  Can I move my family into a bubble now? 

 

So, I am going to end this post with some tips on how to avoid the Swine Flu:

~wash hands after contact with the outside world

~wash hands before you eat, touch your face (eyes, nose, mouth)

~see illustration below, definitely avoid this:

clip_image001

LiveJournal Tags:
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers