Product Review: Tapioca Rice English Muffins

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised by these English Muffins from Kinnikinnick.  I ordered them when I had place my order with Kinnikinnick.  They have a great deal where shipping is only $10, no matter how much you order!  So, load up! 

These English muffins toasted up wonderfully!  They don’t taste like I remember English muffins tasting, but they are a very good roll/muffin.  There are several ways that I like to eat them:  toasted w/butter, as mini pizzas, as a base for my tuna melts, as a base for my open-face fried egg sammies (with spinach or arugula & cheddar cheese), with cream cheese….I could go on & on. 

 

 

 

The nutritional stats:

Amount Per Serving

Calories : 170

Total Fat: 3.5g

Sodium: 260mg

Total Carbohydrates: 41g

Fiber: 2g

Protein: 3g

These English muffins get a thumbs up from me.  I will be purchasing them again.  As a matter of fact, I think I have seen these at my local health food store!  Bonus!

Product Review: Kinnikinnick Many Wonder Multi-grain Rice Bread

I ordered this bread a week or so ago when I placed an order for some surprise treats for Jon.  I have been looking for a good rye-like bread, and while I like Trader Joe’s, it isn’t sandwich-worthy (pieces are way too small).  Yesterday for lunch I decided to make a yummy sandwich out of it.  I toasted up 2 pieces of bread and put some roast chicken, provolone, Frank’s Red Hot & lettuce between the pieces.  I was very impressed by the taste & texture of this bread.  While it didn’t have a rye-like taste, it did have a very nice multi-grain flavor.  There was no crumbling or grittiness that you get from lots of rice breads.  The texture was very close to that I remember of gluten-filled breads that were toasted.  I have not tried packing this bread for lunch and then eating it later yet, so I am not sure how that would work out.  This bread is a definite order again on my list. 

The nutritional content is decent per slice in this bread as well:

Calories:  90

Total Fat:  3.5g

Sodium: 120mg

Total Carbohydrates: 18g

Fiber : 3g

Sugars: 2g

Protein: 2g

 

 

 

Weekly Menu Plan ~ April 26, 2009

LiveJournal Tags:

It is finally warm, really warm, here in Ohio.  Yesterday the temp was in the mid-high 80s.  Can’t argue with that!  It was actually too hot in our house!  I am not complaining one bit.  I am so tired of being cold! LOL!  From looking at the forecast, I believe that the temps are supposed to stay at 70 or above all week!  Sure, some rain is involved, but it’s all good. 

Sunday ~ Grilled Chicken (balsamic marinade), rosemary roasted potatoes, fresh green beans & salad

Monday ~ Filet mignon, baked sweet potatoes (or reg. potatoes), sugar snap peas & salad

Tuesday ~ Dinner out at Uno’s Chicago Grill for GF Pizza!  YAY!!!

Wednesday ~ Bourbon chicken, brown rice (or quinoa), broccoli & salad

Thursday ~ Soft Tacos, refried beans, corn & salad

Friday ~ Homemade Pizza (trying Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Crust mix) & salad

Saturday ~ leftovers or breakfast for dinner

Baked Goods for the Week

Brownies

Bread

PB Cookies

Don’t forget to check out Orgjunkie for lots more meal plans!  Cheryl, at GF Goodness is hosting this week’s GF Menu Swap!  Thanks Cheryl!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers