Carrot, Coconut, Raisin & Nut Muffins

I got this recipe from a friend and converted it to be gluten-free.  I really didn’t make any other changes, it doesn’t need any.  YUM!  What a great combo of flavors!  The carrot & coconut keep these nice & moist, as does the sour cream. 

mm

Muffins

1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
2 eggs
1 cup sour cream
1 cup shredded carrots
1/2 cup flaked coconut
1/2 cup raisins
1-1/2 cup all-purpose flour*** (GF flour mix and your xanthan gum)
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped nuts

Cream butter and sugar, add eggs & sour cream; beat well.
Stir in the carrots, coconut, and raisins. Combine flour, baking soda,
and cinnamon; stir into creamed mixture until just moistened. Fold
in nuts.

Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups 3/4 full. Bake at 375 for
15-20 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. Cool for 5 minutes
in pan before removing to a wire rack.

Makes 1 dozen muffins (I actually got 12 normal size and 10 mini)

***I used Authentic Foods Baking & Pancake Mix for this recipe and about an extra 1/8 tsp of xanthan gum (it already had some in the mix). 

 

4 Responses

  1. These muffins look totally awesome. I hate baking. If I lived close I’d pay you to bake for me. Of course we’d have to leave out the dairy for me.

  2. Thanks Diane! They really did come out nicely. If you lived close by we could do a trade off….you cook meals, I do all the baked goods! ;)

  3. Hi Kim,

    I made these muffins this morning and they are great. I will be making these regularly. I love the ingredients. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

