Menu Plan ~ March 1, 2009

March comes in like a Lion and goes out like a Lamb, isn’t that how it goes?  Well, the weather sure seems to be following this pattern, well, at least today on March 1st!  LOL!  Last week we had mild temps….50s & low 60s.  It was nice.  Today, high winds, cold & snow flurries.  I am counting my blessings that we don’t live in the South (how often do you hear from Ohio say that?) because they all seem to be getting more snow than we are!  Atlanta is getting 3-4 inches!  OMG!  Unheard of. 

Well, my meal plan last week went out like a lion!  LOL!  The whole thing was shot to heck!  Baseball & hockey got in the way.  Then sales at the grocery, you know how it goes.  It probably won’t be much better this week.  Aaron & Jon are still in Erie for a weekend hockey tourney and won’t be home until late tonight.  Mon & Tues. will both have baseball practice and a tournament hockey game.  The rest of the week will include daily baseball practice, but at least the hockey is over, or I think it is.  So, here is my tentative plan:

Sunday ~ Breakfast for dinner (omelets, sweet potato hash browns & toast) Baked Banana Donuts for dessert (recipe to follow)

Monday ~ Burgers or Black Bean Burgers, baked potatoes, steamed broccoli, & salad.

Tuesday ~ Take Out or quick stuff after hockey

Wednesday~ Herb Pork Roast that got booted last week, mashed potatoes, veggies & salad.

Thursday ~ Leftovers (I am going to get my hair did!!!  ;)

Friday ~ Homemade pizza (hoping to get a pizza stone before then to try out), veggies & salad

Saturday ~ Shrimp Scampi over spaghetti squash or brown rice pasta, veggies & salad

Baked Goods

Baked Banana Donuts

Bread

Coconut Macaroons

Carob Fudge (I finally tracked down all the ingredients!)

LiveJournal Tags:

Gluten-Free Overnight Oats

So, I read many different blogs over the course of the week.  Some are strictly gluten-free, others are based on healthy living (eating & exercising).  I have run across many bloggers making “Overnight Oats” a lot recently and it really piqued my curiousity.  I have been in a breakfast rut for quite a while.  Eating what is familiar and what I know can get me through the better part of the morning without having to snack.  I have been eating 2 brown rice cakes, 2 TBSP peanut butter or Barney Butter, 2 egg whites mixed in with 1 Roma tomato & fresh basil.  I also have a couple cups of coffee and sometimes some tomato juice.  I eat around 7:00 AM and am hungry by 9:30 AM.  I am sure some of this is due to the fact that I go to the gym 5 mornings a week, before breakfast.  So, I need something with more staying power.  Whole grains are tough to get when you are gluten-free, as so many contain gluten.  So, this is one reason the Overnight Oats appealed to me.  I have had Lara’s GF Oats (Cream Hill Estates) before, but just a small simple bowl topped with berries.  I believe I talked about it here.   Tina at Carrots N Cake posted not too long ago about Overnight Oats.  I decided that today was the day to try them.  Last night I readied up my bowl and put it in the fridge.  Here is the play by play:

Overnight Oats

1/2 cup oats (I used Bob’s Red Mill Certified GF Oats)

1/2 cup milk (could use soy, almond, rice milk or water)

pinch of salt

Cover & stick in fridge overnight.  Mine were in for about 12 hours, maybe a little less.

This AM….

Added 1/4 cup canned pumpkin

cinnamon ~ dash

vanilla ~ dash

Cooked for 1 minute, then stirred & covered again.  Cooked for another minute, then stirred & covered again.  Cooked for 30 seconds more.

Then I topped with 1 TBSP White Chocolate PB and 1 TBSP PB and 1 TBSP Boysenberry preserves. 

A.M.A.Z.I.N.G.  So creamy and all the flavors….WOW!  I am going to play with the toppings the next few times.  Maybe some walnuts, cocoa or carob powder, chocolate chips, coconut.  I also am going to add in some ground flax seed meal next time for the extra fiber boost.  Wish I could do fruit….banana would ROCK in this!

BTW, if you find the the mixture to thick after sitting overnight, you can add more milk before micro-waving. 

 

I was full a little over half way through the bowl, but finished it because it was so darn good.  I stayed “satisfied” for over 4.5 hours!!!  I wasn’t really “hungry” for lunch until about 12:30.  WOW!  Now, today was my day “off” from the gym and I only did yoga this AM, so the real test will be having this to eat after a good workout and how long it holds me over.  I don’t have anything against eating snacks, and enjoy eating them, but I don’t always have time and if I know I have a super busy day, I can eat this instead and not be starving by the time I can get to eat.  I am one cranky person when I am hungry. 

Sorry I didn’t get a picture.  It was a big bowl of goop that tasted amazing.  One of those “ugly” foods they talk about on Tina’s site in the comments. 

 

LiveJournal Tags:
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers