Thumbprint Cookies

These cookies have to rank right up there with my favorite cookies from my childhood. I love that you can add any kind of jelly topping that you like to them. I was afraid that when I had to go gluten-free that I would miss out on my favorites like these, but, I was wrong. My wonderful Mother has made these every year for me, even gluten-free. She uses Gluten-Free Pantry’s Beth’s Gluten-Free All Purpose Flour as the flour in the recipe.

Thumbprint Cookies

1/2 cup softened butter or margarine
1/2 cup shortening
1/2 cup brown sugar (packed)
2 eggs, separated
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups flour (gluten-free flour mix)
1 or 2 tsps xanthan gum
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups finely chopped nuts
Your favorite jellies / jams

Heat oven to 350. Mix thoroughly butter, shortening, sugar, egg yolks, and vanilla. Work in flour, xanthan gum, and salt until dough holds together. Shape dough by teaspoonfuls into 1 inch balls.

Beat egg whites slightly. Dip each ball into egg white, then roll in chopped nuts. Place 1 inch apart on ungreased baking sheet. Press thumb deeply into center of each. Bake about 10 minutes or until light brown. Immediately remove from baking sheet; cool. Fill thumbprints with jelly / jam before serving.

Thanks again for making these, Mom!! I placed half of these in the freezer so I can enjoy them for the next few weeks, too! BTW, don’t freeze with the jelly in them, leave them as is and add the jelly once they are defrosted. ;)

Now, in the picture above I have my new favorite cookies, Peanut Butter Blossoms. They are awesome too!

5 Responses

  1. I used to love making thumbprint cookies. I can’t remember if I’ve made them gf. My husband doesn’t like anything with jelly so they’re not high on the priority list. Those look very good. I’m glad you get to enjoy them!

  2. Thanks! My daughter is not big on jelly, so she won’t eat these. Jon isn’t crazy about them either, that means more for me! ;)

  3. One quick question. Gluten-free flour mix. Does this mean something like Pamela’s pancake flour? I’ve just started making my own bread in a bread machine with rice flour, tapioca flour, cornstarch, and I think it’s potato flour. Can I use this mixture?

    I’ve never understood for sure what it means when a recipe calls for gluten-free flour.

    Thanks,
    Julie

  4. Hi Julie! This specific flour mix is one she bought in the store and it has rice flour, tapioca flour and potato starch flour in it, as well as the xanthan gum/guar gum that is needed. She bought this:

    http://www.amazon.com/Gluten-Free-Pantry-Beths-All-Purpose-16-Ounce/dp/B000EVKHNA/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=grocery&qid=1230644495&sr=8-1

    You can also mix your own mix and get the same results. here are the ratios:

    Gluten Free Flour Mix ~ Bette Hagman’s

    Rice Flour ~ 6 cups
    Potato Starch Flour ~ 2 cups
    Tapioca Flour ~ 1 cup

    Use cup for cup for regular flour.

    Don’t forget to use Xanthan Gum (1 tsp per cup of flour used in your recipe).

    I hope this helps! :)

  5. Thanks! Yes, this helps a lot. Now I get it.

    Julie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

